Sunday, June 30, 2013

Phønix - Live [1999 Denmark] @320

Energy, intensity, progressivity. This is obtained by the mean of new original compositions, traditional Danish tunes and a unique instrumentation, merged with Nordic, African, LatinAmerina, rock and Jazzmusic. The result is a very original play style and sound, that sends the Danish folk music way ahead into the next millennium.

01 - AKK-vals
02 - Cykelmazurka
03 - Trip-trap-trekant
04 - Bjorneschottish
05 - Seljeflojtlat - Den ubeslutsomme
06 - Fodselsdagsschottish
07 - Elle-Pelle M.F.
08 - Kaerlighedstraeet
09 - Gog og Gokke
10 - En Vinterdag
11 - Polsk - Haaviston
12 - Jubelhopsa
13 - 4-ture

Katja MIKKELSEN: Flute, Violon, Bagpipe
Kristine HEEBØLL: Violin
Jesper VINTHER PETERSEN: Harmonica
Anja PRÆST MIKKELSEN: Clarinet, Bass Clarinet
Jesper FALCH: Percussion

Monday, June 24, 2013

Thank you!

More than
of visitors

Not bad ....

Thanx for all readers :)


Sunday, June 23, 2013

Phønix - Udbrud [1997 Denmark] @320

While this band is somewhat in the tradition of Sweden's Filarfolket and other folk-roots bands of Scandinavia, Phønix treads its own course. The band plays fiddles, bagpipes, accordions, clarinets and whistles, with a variety of percussion from around the world. They use folk tunes for the basis of their original work, adding jazz and other world-folk elements to the mix to give it an expansive feel. It can be driving, like the dark, rhythmic push of "Karavanen." They are at their best when the music is less dense, and the band has room for each instrument to work its way to the forefront. "Siker Sæk" is the prime example of this approach, with a lively combination of bagpipe and accordion, then percussion and fiddle and other combinations as the song slowly goes through the melody, first in a baroque round, and then in a jazz improv. There are lively tunes, Latin grooves over Danish polskas and serene baroque airs, each showing off the elemental quartet with little studio effect or overdubbing.
CF (RootsWorld)

01. En Vinterdag
02. Storm Polsk
03. Gøg og Gokke
04. Karavanen
05. Elle-pell M.F
06. Score-schottish
07. Den Ubeslutsomme
08. Sikker sæk
09. Cykel-Mazurka
10. Ørnen
11. Jubel-Hopsa
12. Hastværk
13. Den anonyme vals/Sidsten

Katja MIKKELSEN: Flute, Violon, Bagpipe
Kristine HEEBØLL: Violin
Jesper VINTHER PETERSEN: Harmonica
Anja PRÆST MIKKELSEN: Clarinet, Bass Clarinet
Jesper FALCH: Percussion

Sunday, June 9, 2013

Carreg Lafar - Ysbryd Y Werin (1995 Wales) @192

Carreg Lafar is a contemporary traditional Welsh folk band. Formed in Cardiff by Rhian Evan-Jones, Antwn Owen-Hicks, James Rourke, Linda Owen Jones, and Simon O'Shea, Carreg Lafar means "a speaking stone", or "echo stone".

Carreg Lafar is one of the bands that has been at the forefront of the Welsh traditional music scene. The group has performed throughout Wales, Brittany, the United States and Canada and uses a mix of traditional and original music to convey a contemporary and fresh approach, whilst staying firmly rooted in the language and tradition of Welsh song and dance music. The material is arranged for traditional and contemporary instruments including fiddle, flute, pibgorn (hornpipe), bagpipes, and guitar, together with dynamic vocals. The group has made three albums with Sain records, Ysbryd y Werin (Welsh: Spirit of the People), Hyn (Welsh: This) and Profiad (Welsh: Experience).

Carreg Lafar released their debut album Ysbryd y Werin in November 1995. The album received great reviews from the folk music press in the UK and North America. In 1997, Carreg Lafar launched Ysbryd y Werin in North America with a two-week tour of the States.

01. Cŵyn Mam-Yng-Nhgyfraith  3:03    
02. Y Gleisiad Yn Y Gwanwyn  3:34    
03. Alawon Fy Ngwlad  4:35    
04. Cân Merthyr  3:49    
05. Ysbryd Y Werin / Mae'r Ddaear Yn Glasu  5:14    
06. Tôn Y Melinydd  2:35    
07. Hiraeth  4:07    
08. Cân Crwtyn Y Gwartheg  4:09    
09. Ar Ryw Noswaith  3:34    
10. Glan Môr Heli  3:24

Rhian Evan-Jones: Fiddle, Cello, Keyboards
James Rourke: Flute, Whistle
Simon O'Shea: Guitar
Nick Dowsett: Guitar [12 String], Vocals
Linda Owen-Jones: Vocals
Antwn Owen-Hicks: Vocals, Bodhrán, Drum, Whistle. 

Tuesday, June 4, 2013

Niekku - Niekku 3 [1989 Finland] @192

One of the truly important recordings in the Finnish folk and new music revival in the 1980s, by a group of artists who became the vanguard of the movement in the 1990s and continue on today.

Maria Kalaniemi (accordion, voice), Anna-Kaisa Liedes (kanteles, voice), Liisa Matveinen (kanteles, voice), Anu Itäpelto (kanteles, voice), Leena Joutsenlahti (winds, voice) all produced music in this particular ensemble that even today is as adventurous as they have ever been. This recording was produced by Heikki Laitenen, who also contribues some compositions, and his avant garde stamp is to be found in every track.

This CD is not for every lover of "Finnish folk music." It moves from lyrical to edgy, from gorgeous vocals to agressive accordion experiments, from tradition to the future.

01 - Yksi Ruusu
02 - Mene Myoten Myoty Neiti
03 - Tuuti Tuuti
04 - Aamulla Varhain
05 - Kanteleilla
06 - Kymmenella Rivilla

Maria Kalaniemi (accordion, voice)
Anna-Kaisa Liedes (kanteles, voice)
Liisa Matveinen (kanteles, voice)
Anu Itäpelto (kanteles, voice)
Leena Joutsenlahti (winds, voice)

Sunday, June 2, 2013

Fernhill - Canu Rhydd (2011 Wales) @320

Recorded at Dartington College of Arts in July 2010, Canu Rhydd is the fifth studio album by Welsh folk group Fernhill. It was released on May 1, 2011 on disgyfrith Records. Described by Huw Stephens on BBC Radio 1 as "another wonderful Fernhill album", and by Verity Sharp on BBC Radio 3's Late Junction as "a very beautiful album", Canu Rhydd is the first of the groups' albums to feature Christine Cooper on fiddle and spoken word. She joins the existing line-up of Julie Murphy, Ceri Rhys Matthews, and Tomos Williams, all of whom appeared on the band's previous, live album, Na Prádle.

Canu Rhydd, Welsh for "free poetry", is described in the sleeve notes as “that written by the free will of the poet, unconstrained by patronage or by the bardic tradition”. The album, like all Fernhill albums features songs sung in both Welsh and English. Different traditional songs are woven together in each track, changing the thrust of the original songs within their new context. They are, according to Julian May in a Songlines review of the album, "concerned not with the culture of past aristocratic patronage but the expression of the ordinary people of Wales. So they have lovingly assembled these songs from odd verses and fragments of manuscripts. They are about love, place, birds, forests and everyday life. They are touching and beautiful." It is the first Fernhill album to be released on the disgyfrith label. All their previous albums were released on Tim Healey's Beautiful Jo Records, based in Oxford, England.

01 - Adar
02 - When I Was In My Prime
03 - Diddan
04 - Forest
05 - Glyn Cynon
06 - Glyn Tawe
07 - Y Fwynlan O Serch
08 - Like The Snow

Julie Murphy - voice, sruti
Ceri Rhys Matthews - guitar, flute, voice
Tomos Williams - trumpet, flugelhorn
Christine Cooper - fiddle, voice
Related Posts with Thumbnails