Friday, August 2, 2013

Phønix - Pigen Og Drengen [Denmark 2002]

"The Girl and the Boy" is Phønix's fourth but it is the first release from the band to contain both vocal and instrumental music. The numbers on the album are a mixture of newly composed tunes and texts taken from the treasure trove of Scandinavian folk poetry and song. The texts add a whole new dimension to the unique Phønix style and sound, of original and complicated arrangements. The melodies and words weave elegantly around one another and create a living and intense whole.
The title number "The Girl and the Boy" is a story about a young couple that meet on the dance floor, and is in a way a microcosm of all the album's songs. They all contain a meeting for better or for worse, between two opposing forces; order and chaos, justice and repression, life and death, stupidity and intelligence, beauty and ugliness or male and female.
With this album Phønix is yet again pushing back the boundaries of the Danish music tradition, taking a number of relevant, human songs, and bringing them into the new millennium in new clothes.

01. Tyge Hermansen
02. Lørdag Aften
03. Mangelus
04. Drømmen
05. Lydian
06. Palindrom
07. 2002 2002 2002
08. Ind og Ud
09. Sven Nordmand
10. 7 Brødre
11. Melgven
12. Dronning Dagmar
13. Pigen & Drengen
14. Liden Ingeborg

Jesper Falch - Percussion
Katja Mikkelsen - Recorder, flute and violin
Karen Mose Nørgaard - Vocals
Jesper Vinther Petersen - Accordion
Anja Præst Mikkelsen - Bassclarinet

1 comment:

CrimsonKing said...


Pigen Og Drengen


Related Posts with Thumbnails