Friday, March 28, 2014

Tannas - Rù-Rà [1996 Scotland] @320

Gaelic music is hard to come by in the early 21st century, but the Scottish band Tannas is one of the genre's most earnest supporters. The multi-membered band has received rave reviews from the likes of the European magazine Q (they were picked as one of the top five folk albums in 1995), won the Interceltique Folk Group Competition at L'Orient in 1995, and has taken album of the year honors by major Italian radio stations. While the band has appeared on several different compilations along other artists (1996's Rough Guide to Scottish Music, 1999's Celtic Voices, etc.), Tannas has also recorded 1995's Oighreachd (Heritage), 1996's Ru Ra and 1999's Suilean Dubh (Dark Eyes).

01 - Mairead Nan Cuiread / The Bob Parsons Strathspey
02 - O Ho Na Ribeannan / Sean Truibhas / Faca Tu Saor An T-Sabhaidh
03 - The Old Hags Set / Lucy Cassidy / Ruidhleadh Cailleach / An Drochaid Chluiteach / The Smith Of Killiechassie
04 - Nach Fhreagair Thu, Cairistiona
05 - Cum 'Ur Gealladh
06 - 'Si Morag
07 - Coill' An Fhasaich
08 - 'N Uair Bha Mi Na Mo Mhaighdinn / B'fhearr Mar A Bha Mi'n Uiridh
09 - Mrs. Mary Stitt
10 - Caillte A Chaoidh

Sandra and Doreen MacKay (sisters): Vocals
Malcom Stitt: guitar, bouzouki, highland pipes
Julia Legge: Fiddle, backing vocals


CrimsonKing said...




dondo said...


Anonymous said...

Thanks a lot!!

Related Posts with Thumbnails