Friday, October 28, 2016

Beoga - Live At the 10th Anniversary concert (2013) [Ireland @256m4a]

Beoga are an Irish folk music group. They were formed in County Kerry in 2002 at the All-Ireland Fleadh although the original four members of the band hail from County Antrim and County Londonderry in Northern Ireland. The line-up features Damian McKee on accordion, multi-instrumentalist Seán Óg Graham, pianist Liam Bradley and Eamon Murray on bodhrán and Niamh Dunne, from County Limerick, joined in 2005, on vocals and fiddle

Beoga (gaelic for ‘lively’) are based in County Antrim, in the north of Ireland. The bedrock of their sound lies firmly within the Irish tradition. However, they are not afraid to incorporate other genres’ nuances into their music. From bluesy riffs to Astor Piazzola-style jazz, to a raunchy New Orleans jamboree vibe, their music always returns to a wonderfully bouncy Irish sound. The result is traditional, with a huge sense of fun and adventure and it all works - wonderfully well.  The Wall Street Journal describes them as “the most exciting new traditional band to emerge from Ireland this century.” Irish Music Magazine writes, “Beoga are at the forefront of the new Irish wave.”

The band was drawn together in 2002 after ‘jamming’ in a ferocious session at the All-Ireland Fleadh. Their unique sound featured the twin dueling accordions of Damian McKee and multi-instrumentalist Seán Óg Graham, pianist Liam Bradley and four times All-Ireland bodhrán champion Eamon Murray. In 2005, the lineup was complete, with the addition of Niamh Dunne, one of Ireland’s premier young talents, on vocals and fiddle.

1.    B\C Set    3:31
2.    Woman Of No Place    3:22
3.    Mischief    3:33
4.    Soggy's    5:24
5.    Dolan's 6am    3:44
6.    Our Captain Calls All Hands    4:04
7.    Prelude Polkas    4:59
8.    Flyfishing    3:54
9.    Factory Girl    3:20
10.    Kick 'n The Box    3:10
11.    Antics    3:42
12.    Home Cookin'    3:10
13.    Bellvue Waltz    4:03
14.    Exploding Bow    4:30
15.    Boxy Set    3:36
16.    Ballymacaldrick    3:41
17.    Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone    2:36
18.    Bodhrán Solo    5:08
19.    A Lovely Madness    4:44
20.    Cuchullain's Despair    5:16


Skylamb said...

Live at 10
pw: folkyourself

Anonymous said...

Well this is lovely, thanks! The DVD sounds good, will have to have a look for that...

Related Posts with Thumbnails